Framing (and I am not talking about houses)

I went to the art store tonight to price out a frame for my map. They are SUPER expensive. The frame I liked (simple plain black) ran about $150.

I spoke a bit with the frame guy. Pretty funny conversation. He started asking things like, “Was my picture for a gallery?” “Do I stretch my own canvases” “Do I have a web page that displaces my art.” I was like “well, it is just for my house, all of my art is on my own walls, I don’t’ really know anything about art (who knew the canvases were supposed to be stretched), It’s not on canvas – just water color paper, I just paint for fun.” I kind of felt dumb.

In the end, he showed me some frames that are called “oops frames.” They are frames that were some way messed up. Cut the wrong size or something. SO, I ended up buying a frame that is really cool. I have to have it cut down to size, and figure out how to put it together, but it only cost $12.99. He said had it not been a goof, it was probably a $400-$500 value. Pretty sweet. Now I just have to figure out how to get it the right size

(Day 25 of rain, 12.27″ and counting. That’s 1/3 of the amount we get in a typical year)

Leave a comment

Filed under art, weather

Leave a Reply

