Did you see that!?!?!?!

So Edmonton scores 16 seconds in to the game and I am think “Yeah! Maybe this won’t be that hard of a game to watch.” Yeah Right. Carolina ties it up and goes ahead one within minutes of the Oilers goal.

Fortunately, Edmonton scores again in the first to tie it up and then again with about 30 seconds left in the first period to go ahead 3-2.

Second period begins, part way through that, Carolina ties it 3-3. They go to the third, the tie stands. The entire game has been one of the most intense games I have ever seen.

Then, what any hockey fan hopes to see, sudden death overtime. Two minutes in, Edmonton gets a “suspect” penalty. Great, got to kill a 2-minute penalty. Then, the unbelievable, the incredible, the “I can’t believe that just happened” happened. SHORT HANDED GOAL!!!!!!! Edmonton wins to stay alive and force a game six back on Saturday in Edmonton.

And what did I do? I screamed at the top of my lungs! I think my neighbors might be a little concerned… Then I ran around the couch several times. This seems to be my traditional celebration: cheer, run around the couch at least 3 times, and then jump up and down like crazy. Go Oilers Go!!!!!

5 Comments

Filed under hockey, sports

5 responses to “Did you see that!?!?!?!

  1. Crystal

    I know! How about that? We went to Rexall to watch the game tonight (yes, I know the Oilers weren’t in Edmonton *grin*) We watched the game on the Jumbotron…my voice hurts a little, mostly from the last goal. Yay Pisani!! Our homegrown hero. And then we went to Whyte Ave and honked our horn a lot, it was funny. I said to myself “Debra would be so proud of me, watching hockey like I actually care.” 🙂 I wish you could be here, it would be that much more fun!

  2. Deb

    I am proud of you!!!! (LIKE you actually care? You DO actually care!) This is how fans of sports are born! And to think it all started while I watched game 1 against Detroit at your house and ran around the livingroom/kitchen/hallway after Edomonton scored. (thats when the run around the house celebration started)How fun to go to Rexall to watch the came. I heard there was about 5 thousand people there.yep, it would be fun to be there, I guess I’ll have to wait until the whole thing is over and come in july…Why aren’t they getting married June 15th instead of July!?!?!?! 🙂

  3. Tyler F. Williams

    Your reaction and mine were quite similar! I actually think they may be able to pull it off!Go Oilers Go!

  4. Deb

    You bet ya, they can do it! Game 6 in Edmonton will be fantastic!

  5. Nichole Gruber

    You are so funny! John and I were watching and I was thinking about you. Congrats you crazy hockey girl!! Nichole

Leave a Reply

