Problematic.

Words are quite odd. Sometimes you learn new ones and then they seem to show up everywhere. (or as was pointed out to me the other day, its just that you now notice it. It had been used all along, it just escaped your attention)

Sometimes there are words that are used quite often in a certain setting with a certain group of people and as you become aware of the use of the word, it too shows up everywhere.

Such is the case with “problematic.” One of my roommates likes this word and uses it on occasion. As a result, I have started using it more often. And now I am noticing it EVERYWHERE. Just today, I ran across it in both my research and on Homestarrunner. If it is used too often, I think that it will begin to be problematic.

Here is a list of some of my favorite words:

Endured
Eschew
Obfuscation
Askance
Circumlocution
Eradicate
Imperative
Precarious
Preposterous
Categorically

And finally, a word I love to use that should be in the English Language:
Imaginate (combo of imagination and create)…Underconstumble?

9 Comments

Filed under homestarrunner, homework, words

9 responses to “Problematic.

  1. Crystal

    Eradicate is a good word, I try to use it every once in a while at work. Negligent is another favorite but I try not to use that one at work.

  2. Vicky

    Eschew obfuscation…avoid confusion… oh the good ol’ days of Mr. Stein and AP Calculus. It’s a bit sad, but that’s probably the only thing I remember from Calculus AND IT’S NOT EVEN MATH. Shhhh, don’t tell Mr. Stein!

  3. Crystal

    ka-ching!! 6000 visitors! And I promise only 3 of those have been me today…I’m a little bored but congratulations on your enduring effort to eradicate disconnection in a manner that is never preposterous and yet displays the touchingly precarious position of life. Obviously we are not willing to eschew your blog. Pardon my circumlocution.

  4. Deb

    🙂 Thats exactly where I got those from of course.Don’t you remember: “Sine, Cosine, cosine, sine- cosine cosine, sine sine. Sine sign Same sign, cosine differnet” (along with the clap thing)Crystal…how did you get on here. I commented, deleted my comment, went to repost it and you had commented again! crazy.

  5. Deb

    if you are still here, im me. (i am supposed to be working on a paper…but I would love to chat with you!)

  6. Vicky

    Well, yes, I remember the Sine/ Cosine cheer as well, but I couldn’t tell you what it means or what the heck Sine/ Cosine are (I remember it having something to do with triangles). Mr. Stein would probably cry if he read this…

  7. Deb

    triangles? I don’t think so…..are you thinking of tangent?…. You know mr. stein would say “my what a nice cosine you have” (a nice smile – because thats the shape of a cosine)…and yes, he probably would cry. At least I got my AP credit!

  8. Dad

    Underwhat? 🙂

  9. deb

    Now, in 2010, I’d like to add Serendipitously

Leave a Reply

