is, am, are, was, were, be, being, been, look, appear….

My sincerest apologies for not writing about anything very exciting in recent posts. I believe that most of my energy flows out of my mind during times of homework and paper writing, thus leaving me exhausted and unable to create a post with any entertainment value.

This weekend I wrote a 7 page paper for a midterm due tomorrow morning for my History of Christianity in North America class. While I wrote the paper, I attempted to remove any passive verbs such as the ones in the above mentioned “tag.” Once upon a time someone told me these weak verbs need removal in order to produce stronger sentence structures and more intelligent writing. Sometimes, I give up for the practically impossible task takes a lot of time. Practically impossible, but not completely undo-able. In most cases, with much practice, I succeed in eliminating these verbs. Take this post as an example.

Goodnight.

1 Comment

Filed under class, grad school, homework, writing

One response to “is, am, are, was, were, be, being, been, look, appear….

  1. Dad

    I have been looking hard at your post and I am not being facetious when I say it appears you are very good at leaving such passive verbs out of you writing.I is trying as well but was not as successful as you.

Leave a Reply

