Happy to Be Alive Day

Today is “Happy to Be Alive Day” that is, the anniversary of my open heart surgery (24 years ago today). In part because of this (and also homework that needed to be done) I decided to not go to class tonight. Instead, I have been doing some reading while listening to the Mariners game.

Well, it is now the 8th inning and I guess I was not listening as closely as I should have. Turns out Felix Hernandez was pitching a no hitter through 7 innings. He just gave up the first hit in the eighth. On one hand, bummer, It won’t be a no-hitter. On the other hand, I am kind of glad because that would have been a bit of a bummer to listen to an entire no-hitter without realizing it. I would have been disapointed that I missed it at the same time as listening. Perhaps next time Hernandez pitches, I will pay much more attention.

One inning to go…M’s up 3-0. Whoo Hooo!

3 Comments

Filed under baseball, class, happy to be alive, homework, mariners, sports

3 responses to “Happy to Be Alive Day

  1. Vicky

    That no-hitter thing is kinda funny… I checked the score before leaving work and saw that he had a no-hitter through 3 innings and was excited. But then I realized it was only the 3rd inning, and I should probably hold off my celebration.I’m glad you’re alive and that the Mariner’s are having a good day in celebration of you!Vicky

  2. Crystal

    Happy to be alive day Debra! Watch for a heart shape cake coming to you in the mail…just kidding, I didn’t bake you a cake but that would have been cool. I’m happy you are alive!

  3. Vicky

    oh, and I’m glad that no medical instruments have been laying forgotten inside of you for 24 years, secretly making the world believe that you are a shoplifter/ threat to national security. 🙂

Leave a Reply

