Currently Reading

Now that I don’t have to read textbooks (although, I am planning on reading a few books for school this summer) I have been able to pick up a book by one of my favorite writers, Philip Yancey. I am reading “Soul Survivor: How Thirteen Unlikely Mentors Helped My Faith Survive the Church” Basically, he tells the story of his journey of faith and how when his church was not very Christlike, other sources redirected and pushed him in his faith.

Just a sampling of the people he writes about are Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King Jr., Leo Tolstoy, Feodor Dostoevsky, Henri Nouwen, and G.K. Chesterton, just to name a few.

I really like the way Yancey writes and he seems to touch on tons of people and topics and books that I have come across in my studies both in Undergrad and now Grad school.

I think I bought this book about two or so years ago and after reading almost halfway through, I stopped after reading about Tolstoy and Dostoevsky and opted to read some of there works instead. That was back when I read “Anna Karenina”

This time, I started over and have now passed where I read to previously. I will finish the book and I am quite enjoying it, but I have been re-inspired to get going on my Russian novels. I started “Brothers Karamazov” and “War and Peace” but have finished neither. Perhaps this will be the season I am successful in reading those as well.

If you are looking for some good reading, I recommend Yancey. To date, I have read “What’s so Amazing about Grace” and “The Jesus I Never Knew” Both are fantastic. At this point being about half into the book, I would probably recommend “Soul Survivor” as well.

Off I go to clean so that I can have time to read!

3 Comments

Filed under dostoevsky, reading, theology, tolstoy

3 responses to “Currently Reading

  1. Vicky

    The Yancey book sounds cool… I’ll have to read it!Brothers K is my favorite book that I read in college. I had an incredible professor for the class we read it in. I would highly recommend reading it. Make sure you take some “European” books with you to England (or perhaps some English books). You’ll be busy, I know, but that was one of my favorite things.

  2. Deb

    We are going to Bath, so I have to have one Jane Austen & Either CS Lewis or JRR Tolkien for when we go to Eagle & Child Pub (meeting place of the Inklings)

  3. Pingback: One month down « Life & Love & Why

Leave a Reply

