My Take on Pirates 3

Ok, I want to be careful not to give the storyline away but…here are my thoughts on the Pirates of the Caribbean: At Worlds End.

Unless you are a huge fan of Pirates 1 & 2, I would be hesitant to say “pay full price” to see this on the big screen. It is more dark then the 2 (which was certainly darker than 1). The story line is a bit confusing and it is hard to follow in parts.

I felt like I was waiting the entire movie to see another sword fight on the scale and creativity of the water wheel fight from 2 or the original “jack meets will” fight in the smithy shop. While swords were aplenty as was the fighting….they were not quite that epic/creative.

There are several good laughs at comments and actions of characters…but even this seemed a bit choppy stuck in awkward places in the middle of a less than comical storyline.

Depp was entertaining as usual, but perhaps they could of used more of him. Plus, the movie could stand to be a bit shorter.

To end on a positive note, (pun intended) the best part about the film was the outstanding soundtrack. It has epic movements that did help the story along. But even outside of the movie, it is a wonderful set of music to listen to. So if you (like me) have the soundtracks from the first two, it is worth it to pick up the third.

Yes, there is a small clip after the credits. The clip is short and the credits are long. I recommend only waiting around if are at the theater with someone you can have a nice conversation with as you wait for the credits to scroll by.

All of that being said, I am glad I went, as it brought completion to the story. They nicely (and not so nicely) give conclusions to most of the characters from the first 2 films. When things like this wrap up, it takes me down memory lane. I still remember sitting in Edmonton at the movie theater. It was my last week of Undergrad and I was at a movie with a couple of friends. There was this short little trailer about how the Caribbean is one man’s paradise and another man’s curse. One quick glimpse of a skeleton foot on the ocean floor. The Camera zooms out from an island only to reveal the island is in the shape of a scull and you are left with “Pirates of the Caribbean Summer 2003.” I have now seen these movies with Edmonton friends, my brother, my old roommate, dear old friends from Washington, and now new friends from Illinois. I think in the end, that is what I like about the Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy.

Leave a comment

Filed under chicago, friends, movie, music, pirates

Leave a Reply

