Losing people

Have you ever lost anyone? By “lose” I mean they are still out there somewhere, but you have no way of contacting them anymore. They changed emails, addresses, phone numbers, and even places of employment and now you are not quite sure how to get a hold of them. This has recently happened for me. And the person I lost had a birthday yesterday so I could not send b-day wishes. Yet, I don’t take it personal that this person has “dropped off the face of the earth” because it is actually almost an expectable thing. Of all my friends, this one was most likely to go MIA for long periods of time in life. Now I am on a small mission to track him down.

I assume he is doing well. I am quite surprised that in the day of the internet, it is still possible to lose people. I suppose if I give it a few months or so, he will show up as a blip somewhere on the web.

My roommate and I were talking about the problem of losing people last week. With all of the technology at our fingertips, she turns to me and says “How is it that we are still able to lose people?” I don’t know, but I guess we are, and at the end of the day, that is probably not a bad thing.

1 Comment

Filed under friends

One response to “Losing people

Leave a Reply

