Top Three Ichiro quotes of the Year

This was on the espn website.    

3. On whether he thought, after his team’s 14th loss in 16 games, that his teammates were pressing: “I don’t even comprehend that word….If someone did 100 sprints before games, then maybe he’d be pressing, but there’s no such idiots on this team.”
2. On the Mariners’ crazy schedule, which caused them to make three first-half trips to Cleveland because of a four-game April snowout: “If I ever saw myself saying I’m excited going to Cleveland, I’d punch myself in the face, because I’m lying.”
1. On the prospect of facing his country man Daisuke Matsuzaka, for the first time in the  big leagues: “I hope he arouses the fire that’s dormant in the innermost recesses of my soul. I plan to face him with the zeal of a challenger.”
Honorary Mention goes to the time he said he did not like to be touched so he just ran off the field instead of continuing in the run down.
1 Comment

Filed under baseball, mariners

One response to “Top Three Ichiro quotes of the Year

  1. Vicky

    I laughed really hard at the last one… dormant innermost recesses of his soul! HA! I also thought the “I don’t like to be touched” one was pretty fun.

Leave a Reply

