The Art

very briefly, here is small rundown of the Art Institute. I learned that I do not really care for Claude Monet. I also decided I really like Vincent van Gogh.

Here is my favorite painting of the day, Terrace and Observation Deck at the Moulin de Blute-Fin, Montmartre, 1887, Vincent van Gogh:

I also really liked this painting. It was HUGE! Something I found interesting about this painting is that the triangular building seems to be angled right at me no matter where I was standing looking at the painting.
Paris Street; Rainy Day, 1877, Gustave Caillebotte:

I referenced this painting in the previous post. If you are like me, you did not know it was called “American Gothic.” 1930, Grant Wood. Also, it appears to me that the farmer’s unmarried daughter has a bit of a lazy eye.

1 Comment

Filed under art, chicago, color, pictures

One response to “The Art

  1. Vicky

    I always find the actual size of paintings interesting. When I visited the Louvre, I discovered that the Mona Lisa is rather small. And, there was a painting of the crowning of Josephine (Napolean’s wife) that was in a lot of my textbooks. IT WAS HUGE (like I stood back to take a flash-free photo and barely got all of it). I really liked the 2nd one you posted here.

Leave a Reply

