A night at the movies

So I changed my mind. For the very first time in my life (other than one point when a very kind old man wearing a cubs hat in p-town was so thankful I was able to fix his glasses he gave me a dollar), I got tips this week. I decided to spend my hard earned dollars on a movie of my choice. I was planning to go see Indian Jones 4, but several people have told me that it was only “ok” or not very good at all. So I changed my mind.

This evening I went and saw Prince Caspian. I really enjoyed it. Yes, its kids acting, its predictable, its a little hokey in spots and it is a children’s story, but I really liked it. When I was younger I always wished there were more chronicles of Narnia. I always felt as I heard or read the tale of the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe that I wanted to tale to continue, to be longer so that Narina would not disappear.

I read the first two books (LWW and Prince Caspian) several times and started the Voyage of the Dawn Treader, but kept getting stuck. Finally, I got through it, and read the rest, still wishing there were more. In my minds eye, I was right there with Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy. The movies are fantastic because they allow us to go back to Narnia once more.

With this movie, I was struck with the character of Edmund. He is not Lucy, the innocent who perceives truth the quickest, yet he is the first to trust her. He knows both sides of the line (good and evil) and he was saved. He knows what could be and what is. He both stands next to and stands up to High King Peter. He both knows his place in times of humility and times of boldness. Perhaps it is because of his actions in the first story and his new self in the second that he seems the most human and fallen yet at the same time redeemed and righteous. Is he perfect? No. For he has not learned all he can from Narnia, thus he is intented to come back. Perhaps a little “already and not yet” in the story line.

Anyway the following is what I initally came to my blog to post. C.S. Lewis’ world of Narnia together with my favorite band. Pretty hard to top this (probably only cold be done with something from the world of Tolkien).

2 Comments

Filed under movie, narnia, work

2 responses to “A night at the movies

  1. Anonymous

    Thanks Debra, I enjoyed the song and video.Dad

  2. Vicky

    I really liked what you said about Edmund. He was definitely my favorite in this movie! I think you explained it well.. already and not yet. Also, a lot of his lines made me laugh :)My computer is being difficult, so the video is taking forever and day to load, but I’m liking it so far.

Leave a Reply

