Music

Due to limited funds, my quest for new music has been somewhat halted. I did want to say that I am looking forward to hearing what Coldplay has to offer. Their new cd drops next week and the four songs I have had a chance to hear sound pretty good.

I have also been enjoying a 4 EP offering from Jon Foreman (of Switchfoot fame). His 24 new songs are offered in sets of 6 on the EPs titled Fall, Winter, Spring, and Summer. Great stuff! Honestly when I first started listening I did not know if I would like it, but I do. The style runs closer to the likes of Denison Witmer or Dale Nikkel. I am less familiar with Death Cab for Cutie or Dashboard Confessional, but from what I have heard of them, Foreman’s style is close. What I particularly like about these EPs is that they don’t sound as polished as we have come to expect. This makes them feel more real, more authentic. Like We are sitting in the adjacent room listening to Foreman pick up a guitar, scratch out a few chords and sing a few bars while looking at lyrics that were hastily scribbled onto an old napkin or receipt. This raw earthiness gives it a refreshing quality.
That being said, I am always a bit bias towards anything that is a part of, or degree way from, Switchfoot.

And there is at least one Foreman song that defiantly smacks of Sufjan Stevens.

Leave a comment

Filed under music

Leave a Reply

