Doughnut?

Are we in a doughnut? (as any west wing fans know, this is code for the ‘r’ word – recession) wow…the stock market has been taking a beating.

Two things I heard recently that makes sense to me: In order to have a positive economy, it must be “growing,” percentages have to be up. Staying even is not an option, only upward growth counts. Kind of like the idea that track runners will continue to run faster and break records – this kind of economical growth (track time decrease) is not infinitely sustainable. Just as a track runner will never be able to run a at negative time, economy is going to stop increasing at some point…or at least I think this is the case. It cannot grow exponentially infinitely.

Second, I heard someone say, the stock market is like a game and in order to have winners you have to have losers. There is not a magic money making machine at the center of the market, if you make money, essentially, you are taking it out of someone else’s hands.

Anyway – I watched House and Fringe tonight. House – uhm, I am not as interested as I was in the past, but I am a little curious to see what happens with the friendship of Wilson and House.
Fringe – had to look away several times (same with House actually) as I am not one for blood and guts. This is a sci-fi show, which I appreciate and I think I am most looking forward to see how Dr. Bishop and his son’s relationship progresses.

Leave a comment

Filed under house, tv, west wing

Leave a Reply

