Christmas Reading

With the holiday’s that means less time at work, More time to READ!

I finally read the Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien. I have wanted to read this book for the last 5 years or so. I started it last January, but did not get very far before life got in the way. So I started over this weekend and read the entire thing. It’s so beautiful! And what a great backdrop to better understand the world of Middle Earth. Thanks Vicky for reminding me that I wanted/needed to read this.

(for those who have read the Silmarillion – Check out the Children of Hurin. It’s a full book in greater detail of just a portion of the Silmarillion. The story of Túrin Turambar, and his sister Nienor Níniel.)

Next up: The Odyssey.

5 Comments

Filed under christmas, tolkien

5 responses to “Christmas Reading

  1. Vicky

    Glad you liked it! I’m impressed that you read the whole thing over the weekend… it took me about a month. Now you have to read “JRR Tolkein: Author of the Century”Have you read “Children of Hurin”? I saw it at Borders, but I haven’t read it yet(My “word verification” below is JOYSING, which I thought was cute. Had to share!)

  2. Deb

    Lets just say I have a bit of time on my hands…Yes, I have read Children of Hurin. Having Read the Silmarillion, you will be familiar with the tale, but its pretty good all the same.JRR Tolkein: Author of the Century is now on my list to read.

  3. Anonymous

    Deb, Did you get the book I sent you in the mail?Dad

  4. Vicky

    I will add “Children of Hurin” to my reading list :)FYI, I just finished Author of the Century tonight. I really liked most of it, however I found the last two chapters to be less interesting. Nevertheless, the chapters that focus on The Hobbit, LOTR, and The Silmarillion are worth the read. Just don’t feel bad if you find yourself skimming toward the end 😉

Leave a Reply

