A Sad Day

Today is the start of a new adventure.

I’ve enjoyed working at Pursuant for the almost 3 years. Professionally, it’s had it’s ups and downs. One never knows what they will get when working with clients. 🙂  But I can say I leave knowing I served my clients (external and internal) well.

I was hired to run “Quality Control” (both proofing and analyzing/updating some processes). Within months of starting, I was asked to become the Project Manager, running the eNewsletter team, again, setting up a process to a product that needed structure. During my two years as Project Manager, I pitched in to finish up eNewsletters and in doing so, I discovered I enjoy code!

I was given the opportunity 7 months ago to try my hand at web development. I have learned leaps and bounds in that time on my new team.  HTML, PHP, etc… and who knew all those years ago learning “boolean keywords” in elementary school would come in useful with code?!?

But starting now, it’s on to something new and that is why I write, though words are difficult to find.

I am sad to leave my co-workers, nay, my friends.  We did some outstanding work. I am proud to have been part of such a team, “Helping those who do Good, Do Better.”

In the midst of the work, we were a tight family.

This was the first group of people who I got to know in Dallas and of course I invited the entire company when I threw myself a birthday party. (Remember “November Bowling Party Extravaganza”?)

One person gave me a free sleeper sofa they wanted to get rid of and other kind hearted individuals helped me move the beast of the couch up a flight of stairs to my apartment.

We have morned together when dark times and sad days hit.  We have celebrated together. Babies. Weddings. Movie Screenings. Awards. Birthdays. Supporting one another as we individually stepped out and reached for our Dreams.  It is This that I will miss.  It is Them, that make this a sad day.

On that note, I move forward professionally.  While I’m getting some of the more practical and basic things refined, I thought I’d start out today with a fresh appearance to my blog.

I hope to be making updates to it in the weeks to come, but to start with, welcome to the ‘new’ debwa.com

 

1 Comment

Filed under blog, dallas, employment, family, friends

One response to “A Sad Day

  1. Katie

    We look forward to hearing what the next adventure is!

Leave a Reply

