rough start

This morning got off to a rough start.

I’m a pretty light sleeper, so I hate alarms that beep or buzz.  My husbands alarm sounds like there is a fire-truck driving though the wall of the bedroom. Without fail, I practically have  a heart attack when it goes of.  Our solution to this is that i set my alarm and then wake him up. (My alarm is the soft sound of talk radio. I usually wake up to the electrical pualse of the radio clicking on.)

I occasionall brag (like just last week) that I hardly ever oversleep by  alarm by much because in my dreams, I think “it seems like I should have woken up already” and so I wake myself up.  The three or so times this has happened, I think its only about 10 minutes past the time I was supposed to wake up.

This morning: Fail.  We were supposed to wake up at 5:30. Silly me, I accidentally chose pm not am.  We woke up at 6:15.

If you are 45 minutes late in waking up, I don’t think it matters if a firetruck is running through your room or the radio is playing. Either way, you jump out of bed, heart pounding.

And today for us, that meant he was out the door at 6:21.

1 Comment

Filed under sleep

One response to “rough start

  1. Crystal

    I’m sorry that you are out of work right now, but I do admit I like it that you are blogging so much again! 🙂 I’ve been your faithful fan since 2005 and I love reading about all the “little stuff” in your life. I no longer set my alarm clock, Annika gets us up everyday at 7….and I haven’t been able to find her snooze button!

Leave a Reply

