April by the Numbers

Last month I commented that we were not going to keep the same pace – as we are running out of things to sell (true – we sold nothing this month).

Then I mentioned that we were really pumped because on the self-employed front, a large job that we’ve been waiting for closed. But we also had taxes coming.

Then our washer broke and we got a new one.

SO – how did it all play out for the numbers? Really well, actually. I’m totally stoked to report this month. So first the numbers, and then a little commentary.

The Numbers

Extra income: $0

Extra items we had to squeeze into the family budget:

A Washer – $467 (three cheers for Scratch & Dent stores!)

An MRI – $612 (Yeah for FSA/Insurance? Thankfully, the entire amount was not out-of-pocket. Still – this is a hefty unexpected amount.)

Had we not had a large job finish – we would have had to reach back to the emergency fund for these two items. Instead, we were able to cash flow them right into this month’s budget.

Extra Debt paid: (drum roll….) $6,338 (boom! that’s right. HVAC – Buh-bye!)

Total Debt paid in April: $6,818*

Since 1/1/2012 – Total Debt Paid off: $17, 459*

(If you’ve been following along at home, I had to update some of the old numbers. Did my math wrong in January, which threw everything else off)

Basically, April Rocked!

The Commentary
I must point credit where due. Yes, we work hard sticking to a budget, not spending, and forcing ourselves to send extra dollars to debt. BUT ultimately, it’s all due to the Grace of God. He is our provider. This is most obviously seen in the jobs that come in for my hubby (like the big one that allowed this month’s payoff). It’s seen a little more subtly in the fact that I even have a job (lest I forget that last year, I was unemployed for 9 months).

The overriding reason that we are even doing this debt goal in the first place is to be better stewards of our money. To be able to, eventually, give more away. Throughout this entire debt free process, we continue to tithe faithfully, as well as stay committed to a few individuals we’ve promised to support.

Believe you me, it’s always tempting to just skip tithing and throw it at debt. “I can pay you back God – when I am out of debt like you want me to be” (in the past as a single person, I’m embarrassed to admit I would occasionally fall into this false thinking).

Thankfully, this time around, we are doing this through the lens of truth, giving back to our Provider first and foremost, before the other dollars are dispersed in the budget, before the overflow going to debt.

*For the purpose of Baby step 2 we are not factoring in our home mortgage

2 Comments

Filed under budget, by the numbers, debt, theology

2 responses to “April by the Numbers

  1. Yep, I’m pretty much in love with you people! No idea how you found me to make that little comment on my “debt-free Friday” post a couple of weeks ago, but now that I’m getting around to reciprocally-blog-peeping you, I can see you’re definitely my favorite kind of awesome. SO HAPPY FOR YOU that you’ve been doing such a great job paying off the debt! Other than handing over my life to Jesus, there is nothing I’ve felt more liberated by! You said it perfectly: looking through the lens of truth, you’re able to do things right by giving back to your Provider first. You hit the nail on the head, baby. Nail. On. The. Head.

    I will be stopping by again! : )

    Krysten in Ohio

  2. Thanks Krysten! I think I found your blog by going to wordpress and just searching “debt free” in the topics. 🙂

    I agree with you when you say – other than handing my my life over to Jesus – this is the most liberating thing ever.

    We can’t wait to feel the freedom of being completely debt free, but even right now – it’s so nice to see the added flexibility with our income just paying off a few items. And it IS freeing to know we chose to keep putting those newly freed-up funds towards other debts.

Leave a Reply

