Normal sleep

Well, almost. After almost two weeks of sleeping on hospital beds, couches, recliners, surrounded and propped up by pillows, last night I was able to sleep in my own bed, lay flat with just a pillow under my head. And it was glorious.

This best night of sleep yet was also assisted by the stepping down of some of my meds. Medicine affects my head pretty bad so when it comes to sleep, I get unrestful, crazy, intense, often violent, dreams.

Here are a few examples of my dreams:

*I was framed for murder.

*Booth & Bones (from the show bones) turned into blue cat people trying to solve a murder before the three of us were attacked

*Some friends were fishing with guns (instead of fishing polls) and then showed me a huge knife collection from China

*Another friend was driving us around in her car. Except I was in the driver seat and she was 2 rows back with hand controls. It was raining and she wasn’t paying attention so I had a front row view to multiple car accidents we were almost in. Then we got to her house only to have a swat team arrive.

*A drug cartel was hunting me down in a library.

These are just a few. There were several others that involved knives, trying to get a task done while running out of time, an inability to see, but you probably get the point. 

It was also probably my body trying to sort out pain and stress.

Last night … I don’t remember what I dreamed. And that too, is glorious.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Normal sleep

  1. Jeanette Dickau

    Debra, so good to hear of your good progress. After my Dad’s open heart surgery, he had horrible hallucinations. I remember sitting by his bedside and crying because of all the nightmares he endured. I am so happy that you are past that. I am so happy you are doing better. Open heart is a big recovery and you are young and strong and determined so I know you will do great. You are blessed to have a wonderful mom to be there for you and your family. So many people do not have that. I am praying for you and your entire family. Thanks for keeping up posted.\

Leave a Reply

