Two weeks

Today marks two weeks since heart surgery. I am so glad to be on this side of it!

I still have a long way to go though. Specifically, I have 4 more weeks of limits in place to allow my sternum a chance to heal well.

For example, this morning I was able to take a shower almost entirely by myself. However, I cannot turn the water on and I cannot properly dry myself off. These two things are part of the limits in place.

I cannot turn the water on because I am not supposed to reach, stretch, turn, or pull with much force. Other activities that fall into this are opening my medicine bottles (create too much in my chest). I can’t drive (turning to see my blind spot, pulling the stearing wheel at short notice, etc) or even sit in the front seat (if on even a small accident, airbags would be terrible).

I cannot dry myself because in addition to the reasons I just mentioned, wet towels are extremely heavy. I can’t lift more than 5 pounds (it was 2 for the first while). I may be able to get a small towel to lessen the weight, but then the temptation to reach and stretch increases.

It’s going to be a tough 4 weeks because as I feel better, I become complacent. 

I’m so thankful my mom is here, doing the “heavy lifting”.

Leave a comment

Filed under health

Leave a Reply

