The Long Game

On February 23rd, I wrote up why I cannot support either main party candidate for President. On February 26th, the hashtag #NeverTrump was born. It gave me encouragement and strengthened my resolve.

Many months have passed since then. I stand by it. I voted this week and yes, I voted Third Party.

Why? Well – I am challenged by the story of Daniel and what we know happened with many early church discipleship. They all made spiritual decisions that had physical and sometimes political ramifications. In some cases, God decided to save them from the lions den. In others – they died. The fact remains that they made righteous choices, full of sacrifice. God was, and continues to be, honored by the decisions they made and followed through on.

They were playing the Long Game.

How many times have you heard in church, or maybe as a teenager sitting around a fire at church came, something along the lines of “We are temporal. Our lives are as long as that spark that just left the fire.” There is truth in that. Our lives on earth are the short game. Eternity is the Long Game.

For anyone that (in regards to this election says) “But the Supreme Court…” – you’ve lost me. That’s the Short Game.

Why would I sacrifice the Short Game for the Long? Especially when I already know Who wins the Long Game.

Each of us is free to make whatever political choice we think is honors God the best. I hope that it can be said I’ve been kind and gracious in all my political discussions. This is just the simplified version of why I (and I hope many others) vote as I do.

Leave a comment

Filed under politics

Leave a Reply

