A week +

I cannot believe heart surgery was a week ago yesterday!

I have to say – the people at Dallas Children’s are amazing. I could never be a nurse – but all of you nurses – hats off to you. I’ll probably miss a few names, miss spell and leave people out completely by accident (I was a *little* drugged… but here is my best attempt…

Tiffany, Taelor, and Caitlin…my ICU nurses. Amazing. Helped me when I couldn’t move, were compassionate and treated me with dignity. Thank you as well to the various techs and other nurses who occasionally popped in because a dead-weight, woozie Debra is a difficult thing to move.

On CH8 – Thank you to Lauren, Mary, Brooklyn, Sarah, and Anna. Again – so thankful for all of you ladies. I don’t know how you do it everyday, especially since most of your patients are crying, sick little babies. These nurses were also assisted by several techs. They helped with various tasks like wheeling me down to xrays and other, yuckier tasks. Thanks for making me smile and not feel dumb.

And I don’t want to leave out the floor PA’s Amy & Caitlin – thank you!

I’m obvious thankful for Dr. G (surgeon) and Dr. Turner (anesthesiologist) as well as their teams. They literally (which is often used to mean figuratively, but not in this case) had my life in their hands.

I was in and out of the hospital so fast, Z never had a chance to visit! I’m looking forward to going back on Friday for a post op visit and showing him around – to the important people. It’s hard to find the words to really say thank you. Thank you for keeping this momma alive and improving my heart heart health so that I can be there and keep up with Z & E as they grow.

And also – I’m excited to show Z the “train room”.

Leave a comment

Filed under cardiology, health

Leave a Reply

