The Hardest Part: Food

To start out – I think the hardest part is going to be not buying snack foods that I love. I enjoy snacking on the following (often weird) more expensive items:

*Smoked Oysters

*Parmesan Cheese

*Sharp White Cheddar Cheese

*Pickled Beats

*Marinated Artichokes

*Green Olives & Greek Olives

*Beef Jerky

*Roasted Garlic Hummus with pita chips

*Sushi

Items definitely NOT on the Emealz plan.

Some of these items might stay (such as hummus as it’s a fairly healthy snack and enjoyed by both of us).

Some of these items might make an appearance every once in a while.

Some of these items may show up in a homemade version which is much cheaper (love me some homemade Beef Jerky!).

Some of these items are probably going to disappear until the debt is gone.

What foods can you not live without?
What would be your Budget Buster?

4 Comments

Filed under debt, emeals, food

4 responses to “The Hardest Part: Food

  1. We cut out our daily coffee from the latte stand. We are saving $120 a month now. : / Embarrassing that we would spend so much on something we didn’t need! We also cut cable. Another $60 back in our pocket a month. It all adds up!

    • Nice work Tara!

      It is funny how much we all spend on items that we don’t need. It seems so small when we buy them, but we miss the big picture of how much that small amount adds up to.

      I’m thankful that a few years back, I dropped the fancy coffee – due to necessity and with the help of a stove top espresso maker that Katie gave me for Christmas.

  2. I used to think I could not live without orange juice in the morning and jelly on my toast. I recently cut both out (not because of financial reasons but because I wanted to eat less sugar). It’s amazing. We have saved a bunch not buying these two things, especially the o.j. but what’s even more amazing is I don’t miss it. Now I drink hot water with fresh squeezed lemon. I like it even more!!

    Also, if you buy beets in the produce section they are SUPER easy to boil and eat, just like you would the pickled ones. Let me know if you need more detailed instructions. They are yum!!

    Congrats on working to pay off debt! It will feel so amazing when you’re done!

  3. Vicky

    Oops, commented on the wrong post 🙂

Leave a Reply

