Yikes

It has almost been two week since I last blogged…that kind of makes me sad.

What have I been up to? Well, still cruising through the Wheel of Time series. I started book 4 last night.

I also had a chance to read Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesterton and am slowly meandering through Handbook on Faith, Hope, and Love by Augustine.

I also put together a five hundred piece puzzle and now am on the down slope of completing a 1000 piece one.

Oh yes. And I finished watching Baseball (a documentary put together by Ken Burns). All 9 innings, 18 hours worth. It ended right at 1994, so I figure I know the rest of the story as I became a baseball fan in 1995.

Thanksgiving was great. I spent a couple of nights up at my brother & sister-in-law’s house. I made the stuffing. I think this is the first time I ever made something like that from a recipe and not out of a box. It was good. The entire dinner was amazing (and boy did we have a lot of food!).

I had some company over a couple weeks back to play settlers. It was a lot of fun, in spite of the fact that I put in one last frozen pizza before we started playing. Then I forgot about it. oops. One of my guests remembered it, but by that time, it was pretty black.

3 Comments

Filed under blog, literature, theology

3 responses to “Yikes

  1. Vicky

    I have Chesterton’s “Orthodoxy” sitting on my shelf. A friend loaned it to me. I just finished reading Tolkein’s “Silmarillion”. You should read it– you’d like it.

  2. Deb

    🙂 silmarillion…I know! I started it earlier this year (january i think) Its so beautiful! but I ended up putting it down for too long.

  3. Vicky

    Yeah, it definitely requires some concentration. However, I found the second half to be a much easier read. The early history is fascinating, particularly since I just read LOTR earlier this year.I’m now reading a book called “JRR Tolkein: Author of the Century” by Tom Shippey (once again, a book loaned to me by a friend). You would LOVE it, but you have to read “The Silmarillion” first. 🙂 It refers to “The Hobbit”, LOTR, and “The Silmarillion” (as well as a few of Tolkeins more minor works).

Leave a Reply

